Life Well Lived

By RodenSarah

McQueen & Madame X

First, let me tell you about the McQueen exhibit. It was INCREDIBLE!!! They didn't allow photography inside, so I can't post any pictures. It was crowded with lots and lots of people. Many dressed in outfits in tribute to McQueen. It was fantastic. One very tall man was dressed in 6 inch platform shoes, dressed all in black, wearing white face makeup, black lips, eyeliner, topped off with a broad-shouldered jacket with long black feathers draped off of the shoulders. McQueen would have approved. The people watching was fantastic. I wish I could have taken pictures of the crowd, but I was afraid the security would think I was taking pictures of the exhibit and kick me out.

I, of course, got the audio guide and learned a ton of things I didn't know about each of the pieces and collections in the exhibit. Each room in the exhibit had a different mood, music, lighting and often accompanying video to go with the collection inside. It was a theatrical experience, much like McQueen's runway shows. It was so amazing. It was so fun to be in the lobby of the Metropolitan. You could often spot who was headed to the McQueen exhibit by their age and the way they were dressed. I was glad that I went a little early. It got more and more crowded as the day went on.

Now, about the travesty in this picture. After the McQueen exhibit, I decided to go visit some of my favorite pieces, which for me, include the John Singer Sargents. The Metropolitan is expanding and remodeling and they have a lot of the American Collection housed in the glass boxes and shelves.

Madame X is hanging on this metal grating without a frame or label jammed in this glass case like she is in jail!! She deserves much more respect than this!! There are several hundred famous American treasures like her that are just boxed in together like this row after row after row. It was so sad that I had to leave after just a few minutes. There were several people visiting from overseas who I talked to who said they were just happy that they were on display. I guess, they had a point. It was just sad and depressing to me. The security guard said 6 more months of incarceration for Madame X. A lady like her should not have to do hard time.

This is how Madame X was previously displayed in her glory and hopefully will be again.
http://jssgallery.org/Resources/Photos/Places/USA/The_Met/TheMet_Interior2.html

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.