Light wanted

Many of us want to make a difference. Or at least be noticed.

That's we choose certain clothes, cars, homes, pets and vocations (to name just a few things).

I quite like the simplicity of these little packets of salt that I use to season my porridge at work in the morning. I like their bold colour. Their strong typreface. Their simple function. Sure, I'd rather the colour was bio-ink or maybe the packet made from unbleached paper, but at least the packet can be easily recycled.

It also acts as a reminder of a metaphor used by Jesus:

 "Let me tell you why you are here. You're here to be salt-seasoning that brings out the God-flavours of this earth. If you lose your saltiness, how will people taste godliness? You've lost your usefulness and will end up in the rubbish.

"Here's another way to put it: You're here to be light, bringing out the God-colours in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. We're going public with this, as public as a city on a hill. If I make you light-bearers, you don't think I'm going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I'm putting you on a light stand. Now that I've put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand?shine! Keep open house; be generous with your lives. By opening up to others, you'll prompt people to open up with God, this generous Father in heaven.

Matthew 5:13-16 (The Message)

My salt needs light too.

Lord, let me be salty to my family, friends and colleagues. Let me be light. Not my own interpretation of light, but let Your light.

(cue the song...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.