Waiting for Jonny

By yearofhappy

Bullshit Bingo

Before I get to the point ( not like me to have a pre amble is it ... !! )

I love my job:
1: I like nursing and am good at it ( I may be the messiest nurse in existence and would have been sacked by Florence for having beer stains on my pinny, but none the less I am ok )
2: I get to have one on one with patients ( I think we are meant to call them clients or some such nonsense, I think management think it affects the quality of our care ) and unlimited time with them, this is a luxury in this current climate ( political climate I mean, not the UK's transient and unpredictable visits by the sun)
3:I have a good amount of autonomy in my role
4: I am supported in study leave and funding
5: I have good working hours and a very understanding boss which I need as it's bloody hard juggling singleparenthood and work
6: I work in an office of chatty people ( ok so most of them like X factor but you can't have everything ) and it makes work lively and fun.
7: The NHS is a fab employer, we get fabulous annual leave and maternity leave allowances ( not that I am planning anymore) and great HR support
8: We are well staffed, have all the equipment we need and work in a fabulous building

BUT and there is always a but... in public sector work there are always a phenomenal amount of policies, protocols and procedures.. most of which are designed to protect and to achieve best standards so that's good but my God, they come with the most spectacular amount of bullshit.

I don't fare very well in meetings for just letting all the big words go over my head, I have to challenge them.

This is a photo from a book I have called " Change the world from 9 -5 " it talks about looking at how we can improve the planet and initiate the green angle at work but it also talks about eradicating nonsense and just being decent with each other in the work place.

This is Bullshit Bingo, the idea is that you take this into a meeting and the first one to notice all the key phrases gets a prize! Never dared do it yet but the day may come.

It always makes me smile, I had to look at this book today as we are having some serious issues with at work with a colleague, today she tried to draw me into a conversation about carpets being illegal, phrases such as " put my neck on the line " and " at the end of the day " were actually used. Bullshit of the highest order!! It makes yesterdays parrot talk seem easy.

Anyway, we are trying very hard to deal with things supportively and constructively, but as I am not at work I can just shout " aaaaargggh " and smile.

Half day tommorow so all is good.

Merry Half Way Through The Week at You.
xx


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.