Sunrise

Calmly and quietly the sun rose. Soft colours graced the horizon while the sea lapped the shore. A cold breeze rustled the grasses as I peeped over the sand dunes. My fingers were cold and the breeze whipped round my ears, it was a chilling reminder to wear warmer clothing.

It was peaceful with no one in sight. The lights of the eastern suburbs from Christchurch city glowed through the mist, in the opposite direction to this image. Shags and gulls were circling looking for breakfast while the black swans preened themselves before gliding across the still water of the estuary. The tide had not long turned leaving water over the paths I normally walk. It was slippery and sloshy reminding me again that gumboots would've been more appropriate footwear than my sandshoes.

As the sun rose the sky became more vibrant turning to hot pink and then changing to golden before coming out in full force as a ball of fire. Many shots were taken this morning, some quite different to my norm and would've liked a few opinions of what makes a good image.

Not sure about this one, maybe too many grasses in the foreground and not enough view, but remember I was peeping over the sand dune and this is what I saw.

Goodness, Hubby will be home in 10 mins and I have no tea organised - bettery fly!!!

I'll be back later :))

Much better in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.