While on my runs

By waipushrink

Welcome to Grey Lynn

Feeling better this morning; I had a short jog through Grey Lynn and then into Grey Lynn Park, to head back home. All went well, which is good. As I came to the Grey Lynn shopping centre I noticed this wall painting. I have to confess that I have not ever seen it before, despite running and walking past here many times. Six months of blipfoto and I'm getting to see things.

The shrub in front of the painting is in the very small front garden of the end house of a small terrace of five houses. The wall he is painted on is the end of a row of shops. Sadly, a pathetic (in my opinion) tagger has felt the urge to metaphorically pee on this wall, and therefore over the warrior's arm.

The warrior is carrying a taiaha. This is a traditional weapon, 1.5 to 1.8 metres in length, and made of wood. Styled rather like a spear, it was used for stabbing with the arero (or tongue), the sharp pointed spear like end. From the base out of which the arero protrudes, a long shaft extends, known as the ate. This was used for parrying and also for striking.

In present times, the taiaha is well known through its use in the wero (challenge), used to welcome manuhiri (visitors). The movements of the warrior are stylised battle moves incorporated into what is essentially a dance. In the past the wero served to help distinguish friend from foe, because of the way manuhiri responded to the wero of the tangata whenua (people of the land to which the visitors have come).

This warrior, as he is depicted, is not issuing a challenge. Hence my title, as the painting illustrates that the manuhiri are welcome to come to Grey Lynn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.