Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Not as sharp as I should be

Going away for the few days really was a great idea. I didn't know when I booked the flights back in December that the timing would turn out to be so right, immediately after a hectic work period, so it was all the more welcome because of that. And yet ... I can't say that it was especially restful. Maybe it's because it was a city break, and the temptation of getting out and about and exploring is too strong, but, whatever the reason, I was feeling pretty exhausted yesterday, far from my usual perky and alert self. And that feeling continued today. In terms of blip, all I felt up to doing was pointing the camera at some stuff on the table beside the pooter and seeing what came out with available light and higher-than-usual ISO settings. There was really no contest when it came to deciding which image to use, since this blunter-than-it-should-be pencil pretty much matched the way I felt.

'Maybe you need another break to recover from this last one', I hear you say. Strange you should say that, because that's just what Carl and I talked about yesterday. It isn't my idea, of course. Carl says he feels the need for a short break 'to somewhere sunny', as a matter of some urgency, and who am I to argue? We did some internet checking yesterday and narrowed things down to Barcelona or Portugal or Sicily. When we thought about it a bit more, Sicily came out on top as the preferred option, so now we're seriously considering a week away there next month. My friends Derek and Rita are recent converts to Sicily, have been there twice in as many years and are going back again later this year. We phoned them for their opinion, and I chatted with them about it again tonight while over with them admiring Derek's new MacBook (what a gorgeous machine, and what a terrific spec the latest model has!). We can get a direct flight to Trapani from Dublin, and flying direct is an absolute must, so that's pretty much fixed. The only imponderable now is where to base ourselves. The outcome of tonight's chat is the possibility of opting for Castellammare del Golfo rather than Trapani itself.

We shall see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.