GAD's 365

By GAD

Fire!

Drama on the Tyne today. Those of you with a particularly retentive memory might remember me blipping this Scrap yard a few weeks ago. Well today it caught fire, and in quite spectacular fashion. I've not heard how it started but there are reports of several explosions on the site which is probably why it spread so rapidly. Report on the BBC.

I missed all of this because I was down in York at the rather delightful Hazlewood castle for a Seminar. The first I knew of the fire was when I could see the smoke in the sky on the way back but at that point I was still a good 25 miles away. How dramatic!

I did find some of the sound bites on the local news rather amusingly exaggerated. One lady described it as 'apocalyptic' and another described it as 'like the gates of hell had opened up'. I think they could have done better so here are my quotes for the news:

"It was like the sun had fallen out of the sky and landed in an active volcano that was spewing out molten vindaloo"

"It was like the blitz only a million times worse"

"It was hotter than a McDonalds Apple Pie"

"I actually saw four horse men emerging from the flames"

You can use those BBC. You're welcome.

Oh, my blip. I missed most of the action as by the time I got home the fire seemed to be under control. Nevertheless, I unearthed the mountain bike from underneath 6 foot of leaves and took it for a spin up to the the top of that hill on town moor to take some shots. Not too spectacular by the time I got there. I did take some nice shots of a cow but I thought I'd stick with this blip and keep my blip journalistic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.