Cottonopolis

By milltownlass

Bee on Allium

The sun shone on just the right day, as my OH and I had planned a trip to Tatton Park.

Although we have visited this country house before, I have never really seen the gardens properly. What spectacular gardens we have missed out on!

We spent a couple of hours exploring all the various gardens and their various styles. We wandered through the maze and enjoyed the beautiful views when we finally made our way out.

As we looked around the house, we passed a primary school class (Year 6, I think) on an educational tour. The children were dressed in period costumes, and curtsied and bowed when they passed an adult. Apparently, their 'experience' for the day was to train as a house servant, then to be interviewed for a position in the house. A great way to learn about history, especially as most people's ancestors would be working below stairs, and not those being served.

I'll be back to Tatton, this time with my daughter during the next school holiday, as I know that she will love to see the house. I doubt I'll get the chance to tread the gardens next time, more likely to be spending time in the play area. It's been a very special day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.