cameralady

By cameralady

Lynx

I have been invited to give a talk on picture taking in a couple of weeks at the Salmonier Nature Park, when they open for the tourist season. Since I had never been there, I got a private tour this afternoon and was very lucky to see some of the wildlife they are protecting, including this lynx.
The animals there have been injured or found in dire situation and they are there either because they can't survive in the wild on their own or until such time as they are able to be released. I was quite impressed with this park. I don't particularly like zoos but this is not a zoo at all. The animals are in their natural environment, within very large fenced enclosures. Visitors follow a 2 km boardwalk around the enclosures where they may or may not see the animals depending on the time of day. Today was the warmest spring day we have had so far and many of the animals were just out in the open, sunning themselves and, since there were no other visitors around and we were quiet, they did not hide from us. They were some distance from the boardwalk so I could not get good shots but the lynx actually came closer to where we stood, out of curiosity I suppose.
What a beautiful animal! Here, kitty kitty...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.