MyLifeinPics

By annahavana

Thoughts of others

I am posting a different kind of photo today, in honour of two fellow Blippers who my heart goes out to: Sam12345 and Moonfairy

I usually Blip pics of at least one of my gorgeous sons (Luke and Sam). Both Sam12345 & Moonfairy have written lots of lovely comments on my blips. I too have read their own journals and both have brought tears to my eyes.

Today I read back in Moonfairy's journal to hear the very sad news that she had lost a child, Christian. Sam's journal also tells of her loss, a very sad emotional loss of connection with her son Kevin. It made me stop in my tracks and think about what I was posting:
- Was this barrage of photos of my boys rubbing salt in the wounds of people who might have lost a child?
- Was it incredibly self-centred and a bit shallow of me to continue to Blip the same kind of shot day in, day out?

I hope neither of these is the case. Either way, it made me want to Blip something a bit different, even for one day. It has also made me try to focus even more on how fortunate I am to have these beautiful boys in my life.

I guess we have all experienced loss in different ways in our lives. My own dad died when I was eight years old and so I find witnessing loss in the lives of others quite distressing. My mum sums up empathy as 'your pain in my heart'. So for Sam and Moonfairy, and anyone else out there who has pain, loss or suffering in their lives, you might never know who is holding you in their hearts somewhere in the world, when you need it most. X

I thought these peony roses I picked from our garden were a simple symbol of the beauty and goodness that surrounds us, even when, like today here in Scotland, the skies were dark and the heavens were pouring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.