Geoff Davis / Folk School

By bluestone

A Constant Reminder

I have no interest in organized sports. I find it impossible to understand the vast sums of money spent on the salaries of athletes and athletic facilities. Community arts programs suffer while youth athletics prosper and indoctrinate future generations into the culture of sports and money.

This huge stadium was built across White River from my classroom. It completely fills my windows and looms over the playground. Lucas Oil Stadium will host the Superbowl in 2012.

My school system has been forced cut music and PE classes by 75%. Many of my most competent young colleagues have lost their jobs. I must pay for many classroom supplies out of pocket. Most of my students live in poverty and will never afford to visit a football game in this stadium (Heck, I couldn't afford to attend a game at this stadium). I drive past this stadium, and more than a dozen homeless folks, as I arrive at school every morning.

The stadium cost $720 million. Sure it created jobs, but students still attend understaffed, funded schools and homeless folks still sleep on the streets and many go hungry and without healthcare.

That is simply wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.