PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Publication Preview

I am so excited as, today, I received an advance copy of The RSPB Anthology of Wildlife, which I had the joy and privilege of compiling. The poems, some classic, some modern, a goodly number brand new and written especially for this book, are complemented by superb illustrations on every page. Half are black and white, and the remainder full-colour, and all by some of the UK's top wildlife artists.

Extra special for me is that the facing-page to the title page carries a dedication to my late, beloved and much-missed father. He taught me to love wildlife, from our garden and the countryside of North Lincolnshire, where I grew up, to the Lake District where we had family holidays, fell-walking and camping under canvas, at Dale Bottom Farm, near Keswick.

As those who follow my blip-journal will know, I love photographing birds, flowers, trees, insects, landscapes of all sorts, and I love poetry. All these delights come together in this one book - my proudest achievement to date (outside of my family).

If fellow nature-lovers would like a copy, you will have to wait three months, I'm afraid, till its publication in August - with royalties going to the RSPB. It's being launched at the 2011 Bird Fair at the Egleton Nature Reserve, Rutland, the weekend of 19-21 August. Don't know the timing of the event yet, but I'll let you know anon.

Meanwhile, I am carrying my book around everywhere with me, as pleased as punch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.