Two Thousand Photos

By ajinternational

Stradun

I've wanted to come to Dubrovnik for a long time, inspired by slides I'd seen from my parents holiday there back in the late 70s.

The break up of Yugoslavia and the war that came with it are firmly etched in my mind - even now I find it so surreal that something so horrific could have happened here.

Today, I finally arrived in the pearl of the Adriatic, and headed down the incredible Old Town which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and quite rightly so. This photo is of Stradun, protected inside the city walls. It's the main promenade - and the limestone looks like marble from the shine of centuries of people walking on it. A little bit slippy!

I'm fascinated by this part of the world. It won't be my last visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.