The Old Town

Perhaps I'm going a little doolally, but I was certain, having looked on the internet and seen traffic notices that the Edinburgh Marathon was being run today.

The start times at two separate starts were billed as 9:50 and 10:00am and the course was advertised as coming through Holyrood Park.

Great I thought, a blip for sure in the bag.

I cycled to the Pollock halls entrance to the park for 10am so that I could catch the lead runners as they thought they had reached the top of the slope only to be faced with the steep incline just past the roundabout where I thought they might slow up slightly.

I was a bit surprised that the park was open to traffic and that there were no marshals or bystanders waiting to greet the runners, but I stood with my camera feeling that something was not right and not a little conspicuous.

At 10:10 with no runners and traffic still going down the drive, I gave up and headed for home. I met a friend on the way who said the park had been shut yesterday for the marathon. Thinking I must have misread the internet and the notices, I checked again and I still find the date given as today.

So, here is my emergency blip of the Old Town which I took while waiting, and perhaps some kind Edinburgh blipper will tell me where I went wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.