Squiffy by the Sea

By squiffy

Windy Day

There are only so many hours you can spend reading about fundamental frequencies and tube lengths in brass instruments before your brain melts so by lunchtime I needed a break from my essay.

Where to go . . . Well, its a Sunday, its blowing about force 7 and its low tide so the decision was easy, the Kite Surfing zone at Hayle Bar.

Photographing kite surfers is always a challenge, the strings are 30 or 40 metres long so if you get a close-up of the person doing some big wave jump you lose the kite which is the colourful bit. I chose this shot for today which was taken from the sand dunes but when I have more time to spare I want to experiment with getting right down to the waters edge really low down to get the action from a different angle.

Oh well back to the essay now, and the wonders of the resonant frequencies of vibrating strings under tension. Yawn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.