a day in the life of Jack

By jacksmom726

Mission accomplished!

A few days ago, I saw on the Facebook page for a local nature center a post about some barred owls that have been spotted within their 300 acre nature preserve. I knew as soon as I saw the post that it would be my mission to spot one and get a picture of it.

The Denison Pequotsepos Nature Center is a place that we take Jack often. It's not too far from our house, and we can get passes from the local library. They have a natural history museum with turtles, snakes, frogs, and raptors that have been injured and can not be freed into the wild. The 8 mile trail system brings you through meadows, wetlands and woodlands.

I saw something flying high above us in a wooded section of the preserve and realized it was a barred owl!! I couldn't believe it, it landed in a tree right next to where we were standing and sat there posing for us. It sat there for a few minutes, then flew to a different branch, then flew off out of our sight.

Mission accomplished!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.