Sunshine after the rain

An early start today as I joined around 6000 people who took up Glasgow District Council's offer to "Hike & Bike" along the final 5 mile stretch of the M74 motorway which is due to open next month.

It is known as the "missing link" since at the moment, all traffic coming from the south of the country (and the south of the city) has to cut over to the M8 motorway on the north, travel through the city centre and back over the Kingston Bridge to get to the south of the city again. Obviously there are non-motorway routes on the south side but these are usually congested. Hopefully this will make a big difference on all routes - especially by freeing up capacity on the Kingston Bridge.

I registered for the cycle run at the last minute as preparation for next month's torture session (see yesterday's blip). I was generally ok but did have to stop for around 30 seconds to gasp as I reached about three-quarters of the way up a long slope and into a strong cold headwind with rain.

I swithered about today's blip - the other possibility is here but I thought something non-cycling related might be called for. This is just the view through my car sunroof.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.