Life Naturally

By lifenaturally

Stokesay Castle, UK

Not being much of a package tour type girl, I mostly wandered on my recent trip to the UK. I'm sure I missed some fabulous sights and important buildings, but I also saw quite a few out-of-the way, smaller delights that many tour groups probably miss. Such is the 14th Century Stokesay Castle.

Not grand by Warwick Castle standards, and certainly not Buckingham Palace, but infinitely interesting to me in it's rural setting. It was easy to imagine the life the people lived as the scope is more 'normal people' sized! I've read quite a bit about this part of English history (Barbara Tuchman's A Distant Mirror was riveting.)

I was thoroughly charmed by this bit of historic preservation. Well done, National Trust!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.