LightWave

By LightWave

Exploration

So. One of the best things about foreign travel is the thrill of exploration - going out alone, seeing what's round the next corner, finding out things, making stupid mistakes, trying to speak the language, collecting stories.

Up until now, we have had a wonderful time, but we have been protected to some degree by our Italian-speaking friends and relations. Time to go it alone!

Well I didn't go very far, but I did get myself from Recco to Camogli on the train, asked for my ticket in Italian, and figured out which track to stand on and which was the right train. And I'm pleased to report that I didn't end up in Milano....

Anyway, I absolutely fell in love with Camogli. Easter Monday and Italian Liberation Day (Liberazione) - the place was packed! But the pastel houses, steep slopes, outdoor restaurants and busy working harbour had me absolutely hooked. Probably this is what Recco looked like before the Allies bombed it at the end of WWII.

Only glitch was getting back - all ticket offices in the station were closed, and the automatic ticket machine was broken. Just had to get on the train anyway, fortunately noone checked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.