The Daily Bun

By pennybun

No 77 Little Ringed Plover

I am quietly confident that this is an LRP, although I may yet be shot down in flames. I make no apology for the quality of the shot - taken at Centenary Riverside Wildlife Reserve in Rotherham, at a great distance, on a dull day, in a howling gale. It hadn't yet begun to rain: that delight came later, just as I was leaving another nearby Sheffield and Rotherham WT reserve at Blackburn Meadows. Sadly, but understandably no butterflies or dragonflies today, but lots of swifts and swallows unperturbed by the wind and rain, a pair of coots building a nest, and at Blackburn Meadows, a great sighting of a pair of bullfinches. Also saw herons on the canal, but by then it was raining heavily so I got back to the tram stop as fast as I could. Typically, the sky is now blue! One positive about the wind was that at CR reserve, the wildflower bank blowing in the strong wind looked wonderful - a sea of white, red, purple and yellow. Here's a small sample

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.