A journey

A boring photo today, but I just wanted to mark the 70th birthday of someone who has been influential in my life.

I say that, but it would be more accurate to say that his great albums have been influential, rather than the man himself necessarily. That means the albums on the table here, the live 'bootlegs' from the period and a few of his later recordings.

This run of six albums, recorded between 1963 and 66, represent one of the greatest creative journeys in any medium. It's hard for me to explain that opinion, perhaps I'll have another go later. I don't even like everything here - I think 'The Times They are a-Changin' is a bit humourless, lacking in tenderness and charm compared with what came before and after, but part of the journey nevertheless. 'Blonde on Blonde' - the album on the right - is what I most frequently think of as my favourite album.

Anyway, that's enough evangelising for now. Happy birthday Bob!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.