Dismemberment

I didn't even bother trying to get to work today. Mandy reckoned the trains would be mobbed with people who'd left cars in Edinburgh and I reckoned the trains would be all in the wrong places and the lines would be littered with trees. Instead, the trains were just cancelled.

So I got to work in my newly acquired cupboard with the neat wee speakers blasting out tunes. Once I'd got done what I needed to get done. I emailed the office and checked out of work so that I could start on dismantling the tree. If it hadn't been for the wind taking the tree we could have called ourselves tree fellers, except there was only two of us and Mandy's a lassie. Jesus but it took ages with the sawing and the chopping and then some more sawing and stacking and carrying. And a lot of shredding. We've end up with the trunk and two big limbs pretty much intact, a pile of firewood, a pile of kindling and a big pile of leaves, small twigs and shreddings that will compost away.No wands.

Ewan's got over the trauma of the tree - he just wants to know when I'm going to build the consolation climbing frame that Mandy invented to stop the tears yesterday. Ellen still wants to know why.

Took Ewan to Beavers and hung around. There was a barbecue planned that didn't happen. Instead it was games, hot dogs cakes indoors. On the way out the harbour was looking a bit choppy although I was surprised to see that only one of the boats on the pier had fallen over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.