imagesofthings

By things

Crash!

It's the last day of sixth form today so I decided, despite the rain, to take a detour on the way home. The detour takes you under the M62 and back through rolling hills, fields and past enough horses to kill an equinophobe.

About a mile from home, I thought I'd go all out; the wind was at my back and there were few cars on the road. About 30 seconds in there was a right turn which I didn't quite notice until I was in it. Feathering the brakes, I noticed the back wheel was sliding over the uneven road surface so pulling on the front brake would likely flip me over the handlebars and I decided agaist it.

Of course, I hit a grassy embankment at the side of the road.

A blur of grass, a flash blue steel and a forwards roll later, I was sat chest deep in vegetation admiring how my bicycle whistled through the undergrowth and wondering whether or not my face had just carved a path through the nettles by my side. It had.
[note the red face. Unfortunatly, tinglyness can't be portrayed through photographs so just image tiny spiders scuttling out of your hair and tumbling down your forehead]

Not the most peasant experience but a good lesson in wet weather riding!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.