this luminous life.

By Laura

The Naming Dilemma.

Kitten does not have a name yet. The night we adopted him, Kyle insisted on calling him Sammy even though I wasn't too fond of the name. I know other pets named Sammy and I would like a little individuality; yet, I couldn't quite place my finger on what type of name I wanted. My mind was blanking out.

Yesterday morning, I put Nevermind in the stereo and it hit me: I wanted the cat to have a name of a famous, deceased actor or singer. After all, my frogs were named [Marlon] Brando, Heath [Ledger], and Marilyn [Monroe]. So, Cobain? That would be a good start.

As the day went on, I collected names. Sinatra is my top choice - classy, and I'm a huge fan of the singer - but a two-syllable name would roll easier off the tongue. Cobain, Gable, Bogart, Presley, Heston, and Swayze made the top of the list. I've been polling people left and right and getting many different answers. There doesn't seem to be a consensus. I mulled over it last night and again today.

So, the name?

Bogart. For now. It's the only name from the list that Kyle was OK with. We will try the name out tonight and see how it sticks.

What do you think?


_________________
a year ago: pond.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.