Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

It rained...

I can scarcely keep my eyes open as I type ths entry! Which probably means there'll be lots of typos as I get more dyslexic as I get tired.

I've been up since 5.30a.m. I travelled down to Cambridge with Alex and arrived nice and early. We waited in the Church where he'd taken the previous exams and then his name wasn't called out! We were supposed to be in another building ten minutes away - so a brisk walk / jog across Cambridge to get to it. He arrived a few minutes late and lost that time, but luckily he's a fast worker and always finishes early, so it didn't matter too much.

We decided we were both too tired to go shopping so we returned home, through rains showers. Pete and I decided to take the dogs out to Holme Fen for a long walk. The sun was shining when we left, but the sky became increasingly black over the fens and when we arrived the vegetation was wet! The longed for rain had arrived!!

It was en eventful walk: Pete fell in a ditch, which had an undercut area screened by vegetation. And then just when we were at our furthest point the sky darkened and we watched the above rainstorm arrive. We sheltered under a birch tree (ineffective) but still got soaked to the skin. It was lovely!! And the smell of the damp vegetation was amazing...

Then it was back home to change, have a cup of tea and help Ben with his Math's revision before going out for a pub meal. We tried our local, but were amazed to find all the tables full at just past seven. It was also very noisy, which Ben finds a bit hard to cope with, being mildly on the autistic spectrum. So we headed off to our favourite country pub, where we enjoyed some traditional pub grub, not haute cuisine but very tasty.

I'm off to bed now. I'm behind with comments again, but hopefully will get a chance to catch up a bit tomorrow, before a busy Saturday!

PS This looks better large.Other views of the fen after the rain can be seen in my Blipfolio

Sunshine and rain clouds

After the rain

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.