Alma's Photos

By Alma

Wild Bee Swarm

This swarm is about 100 yards from my home, not on my property thank goodness. Experts claim all our bees here are now Africanized. Cannot prove this, however, I am very cautious when photographing something like this. I even notified the neighbor whose property this was on. I have five acres of land and I sometimes have heard a swarm go by and then when I do, I run to the house. I am sure this swarm will grown bigger during the day. They are really just looking for a nice place to stay and get water, then they usually move on. Our temperatures will be around 95 today so they may even take to the air to cool themselves. I am using a 300 mm lens so I don't have to get too close. This was taken around 12 to 15 feet away and I was very quiet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.