PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Swallows

On a lovely May's evening,
in the last of the light,
if I say swallows wallow,
you might call me trite.
But in air that is balmy,
and breezes so light,
I do say they wallow,
these swallows, tonight.

poem © Celia Warren 2011

This afternoon I took lots of photos of a parent and juvenile dunnock feeding on the nuts, and almost blipped them, but then decided I'd have another attempt at swallows in flight this evening. (I have blipped dunnocks twice before.)

Sure enough, this evening, the swallows were wheeling (and wallowing!) in the balmy air, and I did get a couple of shots of them in flight - but small and distant. Decided in the end to post this couple, sitting on the telephone wire. Even as I wtached, a passing plane spread its vapour trail all but parallel to the wire - an artistically pleasing bonus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.