Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Puto

Tomorrow is the second to the last day of Spanish class. As much as I like my Spanish class, I'm glad it's coming to an end. The class dynamic compared to last semester is really different. The fall semester just worked so much better. This semester there are more Spanish speakers and the are a few students who just make too much noise.

Anyway, for class tomorrow, we're having a potluck and I signed up to bring a Filipino pastry/ sweet called Puto. It's a steamed rice flour cake made with coconut milk. I had asked my aunt to get the Filipina lady to make some for me, but she was busy. So I attempted make them myself. I pulled up a recipe online and this is what I came up with. For the most part, they taste good, but they're not exactly puto. They taste more like dila dila, another Filipino pastry.

(Since I didn't take a photo the next day and I'm backblipping this entry, I just want to say some students did like it. Spencer said it was good and Kayla said it tasted like mochi.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.