CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Testing, testing

It is grey outside and not much better in. Rain is falling intermittently, and no blue sky today. I thought I would try out this other lens again, kindly lent to me by Davesviews.

Helena was about to use the dining table for some crafty activity with her friend Susie. so I grabbed a quick slot and sent up a tripod and had a go at some close-up work. The lens has 'Macro' written into its name, but I had never used one before. I have tried shooting these tiny flowers before but this time I just set it up inside the window, with no additional lighting. This part of the stem is no more than three inches long, each flower only a quarter of an inch in height.

I am pleased with the results, but now I wonder what I could do with a bit more time to adjust the circumstances.

I have no idea what the plant is. I only remember that it volunteered itself some years ago into the pot of a small cactus plant which I had bought from a nursery. Probably it had been seeded by accident then. It seems to be like a bromeliad, living off very little soil at all. It has multiplied every year and now is overflowing with long flowering stems, white spotted green leaves and big bulbs which seem to be the basis of the plant. Any help identifying would be much appreciated!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.