Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Walk from Craster to Dunstanburgh Castle

We headed to Craster today for our outing, which placed us on the south side of the castle. I guess we managed about a mile of the walk before turning back (with my 83 & 85 year old parents). Actually from the Craster side the castle presents its most photogenic face. It's an easy walk from the village, along relatively flat and mown grassland. Not parkland by any stretch of the imagination as the route is open to the rocks and sea, but nevertheless very pleasant and it attracts lots of visitors. Including a party of school children who were probably out and about `post SAT's'. Something that seems to happen in this country during the last weeks of the summer term.

While dad had his afternoon nap, mum and I drove into Anwick where there is a very good wool shop. She chose wool while I went to the bank and to pick up items from our shopping list. She?s now happily knitting away (a new scarf for me) and the holiday whisky has just come out, so it?s probably a good thing that I?ve reached the end of todays blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.