Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

Till The Money Runs Out

Having fun down by the river with a handful of coins. Made it home just in time for the Champions League Final, which Barcelona deservedly won 3-1. I miss being able to go to the pub to catch matches like this, but like many folks, I'm doing my best to cling on to what little cash I have.

Anyway, for perhaps the millionth time in my journal, I'm in the mood for some Tom Waits.


Check this strange beverage that falls out from the sky
Splashin' Baghdad on the Hudson in Panther Martin's eyes
He's high and outside wearin' candy apple red
Scarlet gave him twenty seven stitches in his head
With a pint of green chartreuse ain't nothin' seems right
You buy the Sunday paper on a Saturday night.

Can't you hear the thunder, someone stole my watch
I sold a quart of blood and bought a half a pint of scotch
Someone tell those chinamen on telegraph canyon road
When there ain't no time to unload
So bye bye baby, baby bye bye.

Droopy stranger, lonely dreamer, toy puppy and the prado
We're laughin' as they piled into olmos' el dorado
Jesus whispered eeny meeny miney moe
They're too proud to duck their heads that's why they bring it down so low
So bye bye baby, baby bye bye.

The pointed man is smack dab in the middle of July
Swingin' from the rafters in his brand new tie
He said I can't go back to that hotel room, all they do is shout
But I'll stay with you baby till the money runs out
So bye bye baby, baby bye bye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.