The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Black Cat

Clapham, North Yorkshire

I'm always on the look out for Black Cat images. I wouldn't have expected to find this looking out of a window in Clapham though. I've never heard of Black Cat Cigarettes. As for the other elements of this image, we have Parrot Face Davies gurning and a decidely weird photo of a woman and a monkey. There are other parts of this image which are less easily discerned. Definitely worth viewing large when you may see other small (dead) details.

I met up with Dr T for a walk from Clapham in the limestone dales. It started wet and exceedingly windy, and ended quite bright and exceedingly windy. The light wasn't much good for landscape pictures, which is a shame as it's wonderfully photogenic with barns, limestone walls, limestone pavements and scars. The blip consultant decided to reject them all in favour of this. But I have a few ideas for places to revisit another time when the light is perfect in the early morning or late evening.

Our favourite cafe in the village is no longer open. We had a bizarre experience in one of the other two, so we won't be going back there. We had to settle for the other one, which has a cloying smell of damp, but at least the owner is friendly and by that time in the afternoon, we could sit outside in the fresh air to drink our teas.

Thanks for all the comments, stars and favourites for the finely balanced coal tit yesterday, the response was a little overwhelming. I will get round and thank everyone, but I may not manage it tonight. I have to get up early to do a wetland bird survey tomorrow.

ps Ceridwen has given me a link to a photo of the Carreras factory in London where the black cat logo is explained, see link

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.