Everythings gonna be alright

I slept poorly last night, one of those sleeps where you wonder if you really were asleep. I know there were 3 quakes. The problem was sore ribs and a tendency to cough. Not good companions.

Nevermind, it's been a beautiful day. I wasn't ready to go through the tunnel beneath the Port Hills to the port of Lyttleton. It was pretty much the epicentre of February's earthquake and much of it is destroyed or badly damaged.

I feel fine about that. All in good time and today I went with my friend and neighbour to view a little of edge of the city centre and cordon. I've driven past but until today hadn't been to look on foot.

It felt like I was looking at a film set, cordoned off by barricades and big fences. Funny what the mind does as your brain struggles to make sense of it. We also visited a couple of sites where buildings have been cleared on the edge of the cordon.

They'be become gapfiller projects. This one in the photo consists of old bits of commercial furniture destined for landfill and now serving as blank canvases where people can write their words of hope and love.

A great initiative and a wonderful counterpoint to what can only be described as a silent bomb site within the nearby cordon.

Friday self portrait

Saturday self portrait

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.