LightWave

By LightWave

Little Goose

Boston loves it's cemeteries. They are treated like parks - you might go for a walk there, or cycle, or go birdwatching. Forest Hills has a beautiful lake that is home to numerous creatures and well worth a visit. The warm weather last week has brought out the butterflies and dragonflies. I spent a pleasant half hour trying to photograph the tiny American Coppers that were present in abundance on a field of daisies. That's a new butterfly for me. On my approach to the lake, I startled a couple of cormorants - they circled three or four times, but I was unable to find them again.

I have to admit that I was hoping for some ducklings, but nothing doing. I saw quite a few while I was in Europe, but I haven't stumbled on any in Boston so far this year. There were plenty of Canada geese, as usual, grazing among the graves. And one gosling. Just one. Maybe the coyotes are keeping them in check. His parents were very protective of him and gave me a good telling off when I approached. Later on, they calmed down and I was able to get this shot of the little goose while I was sitting down and watching the tree swallows fly in and out of their nesting box. He's actually quite big now and has HUGE feet.

While I was sitting peacefully watching the birds, I got lunged at by something in the water - I think it was a giant turtle. It caused quite a commotion. If we weren't in Boston I might have thought it was an alligator :) Made me jump anyway.

One more thing. I've been to Forest Hills plenty of times, and nothing bad ever happened. But this time, I'm ashamed to say, I got lost. Really lost. And it was 7.30 and the cemetery was closing... eventually I found a jogger who was very helpful and directed me towards the main gate. And a very nice security guard walked me over to Tower Street gate and unlocked it for me. So a big thank you to both of these gentlemen. I don't suppose you'll ever read this, but anyway, I dedicate this picture to you.


Forest Hills Cemetery, Boston, MA

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.