Get Back to Me

By GetBacktoMe

Sting in the Tail

Just one photo from a 69 image, 30 minute, extreme photo shoot in the kitchen? Blipping sucks!

According to that online-pedia-wik-thing Hornets are allegedly scarce in many parts of the U.K.
Hornets, however, have a real stronghold in Watford. Why, right next to their ground in Vicarage Road, there is a hospital ward dedicated to curing sick young hornets.

I guess for adventurous hornets it is a natural progression to head north from Watford into the countryside. Who wouldn't? In fact there seems to be a new community forming right here in my home.

So when a female Vespa Crabro appeared in the kitchen this morning, I shut the dog out and myself in with it.

5 Things I learnt:

1. When a hornet flies directly at you - duck!
2. Head on, a hornet looks chestnut brown and hairy, even though it's abdomen is striped yellow and black.
3. My windows and sills are filthy (50% of images x-rated immediately)
4. Hornets have C shaped eyes.
5.Hornets are clever.

Photo session over, I caught this beautiful lady in a whisky glass and placed an envelope, over the top, for my safety during liberation, she simply pushed it to one side and walked out.
Result: Blurred and badly composed, but Blip done!

P.S. No humans were hurt in the making of this blip.

P.P.S. Miss hornet was released with care into the garden.

A couple of others in my blipfolio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.