Redpolls

Carduelis flammea

The massive flock of birds I saw yesterday was of redpolls. I did think of redpolls yesterday because of their size and undulating flight, but as I rarely see them I thought it unlikely. This morning I returned with binoculars. There was no doubt. Today, however, there were only a few hundred and they were gathered on the far side of the field about 500 metres away.

As I was sitting in my car some settled on the fence nearby and I took photos through my windscreen. This image is a composite of two shots. He (on the left) was perched in shade and I had to lighten him up a bit. She is puffed up because she was in the process of preening herself. Large

Redpolls were introduced to New Zealand between 1862 and 1875. Apparently flocking together in large numbers is what they do. I usually see them in small groups of 5 or 6. Yesterday's flock was by far the largest number of birds of any type that I have ever seen at one time.

Last year there was plenty of snow on the mountains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.