While on my runs

By waipushrink

Looking in delight

Early start today, made earlier by waking 5 minutes ahead of time. Although ready to make the coffee for S before she headed off to a predawn Yoga class, I was not needed as headache had supervened. Off I went with the intent of another shot into a shop.

Actually got one for Tsuken; a cardboard cutout of Brian May in the window of the Rock Shop. Rather a good shot, and I might seek it another time.

But, my delight came once I started alongside the Auckland Domain, even before going in. The eastern sky was cloudless, the moon, crescent maybe, was very bright and clear as was Venus. A batch of photos through the trees. Then I was into the Domain and around closer to the War Memorial Museum and I could see Jupiter as well.

One of the shots I took incorporating Big Bird was really rather good. Only a few metre along, however, this is what I saw and this was my delight, unsurpassed for the rest of the day.

This is what we always knew as the rear of the Museum. It is now where the main entrance is found; low down near one of the street lamps can be seen the verandah over that entrance. The roof here is relatively recent and covers a new development of function rooms, lecture rooms, and the like, with absolutely superb views over the city to the harbour.

The crescent moon, along with the shadow of the moon itself has just risen above the museum when seen from where I stood, while to the south of the moon is Venus. Jupiter has risen more quickly and is much higher in a sky which is starting to lighten with the approaching dawn.

I think that the delight I felt in this at the time, and when seeing the image on my computer (I had to look before going off to work!), helped me manage a day more challenging than many others; happily I had positive feedback.

As a different interpretation of the challenge I offer this image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.