sTUARTarE

By stuartare

Camera phones, legit or not?

Friday we went out in Brum, I took this photo on my phone using the FX camera app to add the sepia tinge. The reason I've uploaded a photo off my phone is that I recently read that Damon Winter won 3rd place in Pictures of the Year International using photos taken with an app on his iPhone following soldiers in Afghanistan. It provoked a lot of debate about whether the app our camera phones themselves count as 'proper' photojournalism. For my part, I think they do, and you can write off new technology at your own risk. But others will of course feel differently. You can read about this in more detail and Damon Winters' view on this link http://lens.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/02/11/through-my-eye-not-hipstamatics/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.