RunningBackwards

By Runningbackwards

All ferries lead to Salcombe

Not strictly true, of course..

After a morning spent walking around Start Point and the temptation of lots of lighthouse shots (but it has been done to great effect already this week) we drove down the South West's narrowest lanes, crossing a bit of tidal road (excitement!) to East Portlemouth and got the ferry over to Salcombe. £1.40 each way so contemplated swimming! (not that tight, really..)

Now, Salcombe is very nice and all that but it has been taken over by Jack Wills and Fat Face type shops.

Not being in the market for my latest Musto jacket (it would be okay if I was a sailor) I spent a bit of time window shopping and people watching.

People on holiday, spending their time shopping.

What are we doing?! Be on holiday, people!!!

Back, quite quickly, in the ferry to East Portlemouth and then, following a suitably organic Cola and a locally sourced Pasty (get me!) a return to BeeSands for another little walk and consideration of another swim.

Mrs RB tucked into a fried scallop bap and I went crazy with a cup of tea (with sugar). I had to explain to the lovely lady behind the counter that I was on holiday and therefore entitled to a one-off sugar in my tea.

Back, via impossibly narrow lanes, to temporary luxury base.

Back to normal tomorrow, so am enjoying it while I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.