View from the bed

not my bed I hasten to add
went to give blood today, had a 5pm appointment, turned up early and because I had forgotten my healthcheck form I had to fill in another one.
5.15, I got called through for the finger prick
`Hmmm` said the young girl `it`s not sinking, I`ll do another one`.
That also refused to sink.....a sign of low iron
`You`ll have to go for an iron test` she said `take a seat and I`ll tell them`.
Twenty minutes later I`m having an armful taken so a mere drop can be placed into a machine which reads iron levels.......the magic number 125 pops on the screen....I`m taken back to a bed, veins found,eventually, needle inserted and I lie there patiently waiting for the bag to fill
I normally take about 10 minutes to give a full donation but for whatever reason my blood was thicker today and wouldn`t flow through quickly enough. The lovely nurse was very gentle with me and eventually managed to get 3/4s` of a bag, enough for a donation.
Tea and bikkies and a quick phone call for Chris to come and pick me up and I got out an hour and a half after walking through the door.
The donations take place at Hinckley Masonic Hall and this is a cleverly disguised air con vent above the bed I was on.
Oh and I`ve got two lovely bruises on both arms...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.