Fi

By Fi

Under Construction

The National Stadium is shaping up nicely, but will it be ready in time for the Euro 2012 football thingy about this time next year? Who knows. I read on one of the Polish news sites that a spiral emergency staircase that goes around the whole thing, has failed safety tests and so needs to be re-installed, which means that it definitely won't be ready for the 'friendly' inauguration match between Poland and Germany, that is scheduled for early August.

The stadium is located on the other side of the river; I can just see it, if I lean out of my sixth-floor window, but it certainly will be an imposing part of the Warsaw skyline. Tonight, I cycled across Ksiecia Jozefa Poniatowskiego bridge, into Praga and the leafy Francuska Street, for a spot of supper before having a cup of tea in the very cute and completely hidden away Cafe Kepa.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.