Nell's World

By nell2803

My Childhood

The Friday challenge - 'My Childhood"

Although we had been advised earlier in the week what the challenge would be I had somehow missed it. Discovered it last night VERY late after a glass or two of chilled white.

As today is a scorcher it brought back strong summer memories. My gran, who lived with us, would set a little table in the garden for me to have my breakfast and lunch. I thought it the hight of sophistication to be eating outside in the warm sunshine. My favourite was when she would peel an orange, divide it and sprinkle it with caster sugar. Bliss.

During the summer break I would then get on my chopper bike, BEST BIKE EVER, and collect my friend who had a blue mark 11 chopper. (not nearly as cool and sexy as my orange mark 1) We would spend the whole day out and about stopping only for a quick bite to eat and an ice pole.

The soundtrack, listening to radio one and hearing them play Summer Breeze by the Isley Brothers.

Remember too,the sky was always more blue, and the days were always warmer, sunnier and longer then.


This has been a fab trip down memory lane. Great challenge. Sorry Kate I missed the original link, don't know why as it was attached to my favourite photo of yours this week

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.