Appertunity

By appertunity

My secret world of kitsch!

Here are a few of the kitsch objects from my collection of tat!

I don't know where my love of Kitsch comes from (but I even have a dream shop which features in various guises in my dreams & which stocks everything, unusual books/magazines, stuffed animals, novelty toys, childhood sweets etc in endless combinations of fascinating rooms - anyone want to analyse this dream shop for me lol?)

My blip today features Mr Pinchy (the lobster), a Gaydar fan from Manchester pride, a teddy tiara & a viewmaster 3D viewer (plus slides).

Kitsch is difficult to define but its very self aware (you have to be in on the joke or its not kitsch its just a tragedy) & is often a gay trait (again anyone have any theories?).

My other topic today was I recently had a photo suspended from blip!

Shock horror! :-(

Blip rules say "don't upload images overlaid with any text" & it seems my Law & order image fell foul of this!

However I'm of the opinion that the image is still a photograph and I have only manipulated it by running it through a filter.

No text was overlaid 'on top' of the photo as the photo itself is now all text, the pixels have simply been rearranged graphically by an algorithm in the same way that a normal filter changes aspects of a photo e.g. to change the colour temperature or add effects.

There are a number of apps that allow digital manipulation of photos to the point that they no longer resemble traditional photography e.g. some apps can make a photo look like an impressionistic painting (again by running it through a filter).

I am of course willing to go along with blips judgement but I'd like to know at what point do you fellow blippers feel digital manipulation renders a photograph no longer a photograph?

Blogs such as Pixels at an exhibition which display iphone photographic art work are uncovering a whole new level of photographic art purley from work with apps and filters.

I've written to blip to ask for clarification as it's a tricky one.

Anyway what are your thoughts & what's the kitschiest object in YOUR house?





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.