La vida de Annie

By Annie

Yummy

My lovely friend Sara took me out for a belated birthday lunch today at Greenbank Sports Academy, my first outing since the birthday treat. It was wonderful to get out as I was getting stir-crazy in the house for hours and days on my own except for the dogs. I've known her a long time; we met over 21 years ago when #2 daughter was 2 weeks old and it was my first time out after a traumatic caesarian, still feeling like I'd been hit by a lorry and even more nervous about meeting new people than usual. I'd forced myself to go to a NCT coffee morning, where Sara, then the mother of a one-year-old boy, spotted my social ineptitude and spent time talking to me and putting me at ease. She is a naturally kind and caring person and soon drew me out, and we discovered we shared a wacky sense of humour amongst many other things. She went back to work after her two children started school, and I didn't, finding four (by then) hard to juggle with work too, but we remained close and shared many family parties and outings over the years, as well as a cuppa and a cry when needed. She knows she can ask for help if she needs it, and I know I can do the same, although she has a very busy life with full-time work and many charitable projects and quite a few problems. Despite this she made time today to take me out, and it was a real tonic; the company, the sunshine, and going to a place where the staff treat someone in a wheelchair as a human being. Sadly my eyes have been opened to a lot of disability issues recently, and I hope I remain mindful of what I've learned once I'm on my feet again. Sara said in her social work training they had to spend a whole day in a wheelchair or blindfolded with a white stick, and that experience was so profound it stuck with her ever since. I think that activity should be included in the school curriculum.
Today's image is the chocolate fudge dessert and icecream which completed our meal, not quite as impressive as one we had last year, but delicious nonetheless. Thank you my dear friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.