Jack the "Blipper"

By jackjack

The West Linton Whipman Parade

"Scream if you want to go faster!"
I felt sick happy taking this photo.

The Whipman is an annual summer festival held in the village, and is one of the Borders' oldest festivals.
A local man is elected to the office of "Whipman" and he chooses a young lady to be his "Lass". These two represent the village at other Borders festivals throughout their year in office. The celebrations begin with the Installation of the Whipman & Lass, followed by a celebratory ceilidh. The locals get to have fun at the torture chamber funfare on rides like this one!! Agggggghhhhhh
There is no way you'd get me on this funfair ride. I would definitely puke! I think I am officially old :-(

Our job today was to head the parade around the village on horseback. What a smashing evening. Everyone seemed so happy in the sunshine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.