Niall Today

By niallToday

A Nation of Animal Lovers

On my route to work I pass some interesting statues. I only get the briefest opportunity to see them though as most are at busy road junctions and my thoughts need to be elsewhere.

So, I thought it might be good to make the effort to see them properly. This one is, unsurprisingly, dedicated to the role that animals have played in war. Not specific individuals. Was surprised that there were no stories of heroism to be read, or stats.
On the other side of the wall is another horse and a dog that are heading the same way, so have already passed through the gap. Very symbolic no doubt...? I think, conceptually, its very striking.

What also struck me was how many wreaths were on the steps. Who is placing them there - animal charities?

Expect more statues from time to time

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.