Cobbled Together Conversation...

I was heading out to get the drinks this afternoon when someone stopped me in the corridor. I didn't know who this was but they just started speaking to me about the commute in the morning and how I managed to get in.

I had no idea who this was. I didn't think I'd seen him before in my life yet he knew I was a regular commuter from Fife on the buses. I don't even recall ever seeing him as part of the regulars on the bus.

I had a wee internal double tasking thing going on during this encounter. I was wracking my memory trying to work out who he was and if I had any frame of reference with which to add to the conversation whilst also trying to conduct a conversation about the commute and the current events* in bus commuting from Fife. It was most bizzarre.

I did manage to additionally clock his badge and work out his name but even though I'd heard the name before, I still couldn't think of any previous encounters with him.


*This morning, there was a huge fire in a scrapyard near the Forth Rail Bridge that was throwing huge plumes of smoke hundreds of feet in the air and the bridges got closed last week because of the very high winds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.