Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

I Shall Rise Again

I like to get out for a bike ride first thing in the morning when I get the chance and this morning saw me pedal off to the docks at Birkenhead for a sunny cycle along the Mersey. Tempting though it was to take a shot of the Liverpool waterfront I decided to save that for another day. Instead, here's a shot of part of a full-size model of a very early submarine - Resurgam - which was designed by a Birkenhead curate, the Rev George Garrett, and built in 1879 at a cost of £1,538. The submarine weighed 330 tons, had a crew of 3 and was powered by a closed cycle steam engine. It says here. She was the first vessel to be successfully propelled mechanically underwater but was wrecked by a storm off Rhyl in 1880 and was not found until 1995.

Right, time for a spot of lunch and a read of the paper in the garden...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.