MaggieD

By MaggieD

Red Telephone Box

This red telephone box is in the Lanarkshire village where my Mother lives. At the age of 86 she looks after the garden on either side of it. The villagers bought the phone box for the princely sum of a pound after BT discontinued the service. It is to be renovated and repainted. So this is the BEFORE picture. Later on in the year I hope to blip it and the wee garden in all it's glory!

This phone box was the one I had to run to ,when my Father had a heart attack, thirty seven years ago to get medical help. No mobile phones or even a telephone in the house then!

My best friend moved to London for a year's dental course and I stood in this box faithfully every Sunday afternoon with my pile of coins hearing all that she had been up to.

When I started going out with John the red telephone box was how we kept in touch.

Many years later after we married and had our first spaniel , Sam, we were away for a few days and Mum was looking after him. She took him out for a walk and a notorious Dalmatian came towards her as if he was going to attack Sam. Mum lifted Sam and flew into the phone box for safety!!

I hope it continues to stand in the village for a long time. It certainly holds memories for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.