LightWave

By LightWave

I'll Do Anything...

I went to Belle Isle Marsh today, hoping to catch some of the tree swallows that pose so invitingly on top of the sign that says "Belle Isle Marsh". But they'd gone. Maybe the chicks are fully fledged now.

Instead, I found a redwing blackbird (top right) going through his best moves to impress a lady (top left). He was almost continually singing, even in the air, where he put on a magnificent display of aerial acrobatics, hovering, spreading his wings and tail feathers, diving, bending himself in two. I'm not sure he didn't loop the loop and fly upside down.

Anyway, I got some reasonably good shots of him and the object of his attention with my 300mm - good enough to make a composite anyway.

Belle Isle Marsh, Boston

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.